2007 Barry M. Goldwater Lecture Series Arizona’s Political History and Culture

Over a quarter century ago, Senator Barry Goldwater initiated the speakers’ series that bears his name. Each year the series highlights one of three themes that comprise the Arizona Historical Foundation’s collection policy emphasis; political, legal, and business history. This year’s series brings together seven of the state’s most historically significant elected leaders, including former Congressman J.D. Hayworth, former Governor Fife Symington, former Senator Dennis DeConcini, and Governor Janet Napolitano.

The 2007 series marks the second year of a renewed partnership between AHF and EIGHT, one that promises to bring to viewers some of Arizona’s most distinguished and colorful history makers. Look for Goldwater Lecture Series to be aired on EIGHT in Summer 2007.

Stay tuned to this page for more information.

2007 Lecture Series Schedule

February 7, 10:00 am
The Honorable J.D. HayworthTwelve Years Representing Arizona’s Fifth District in the U.S. House of Representatives
February 14, 10:00 am

The Honorable Jim Kolbe, Representing Arizona’s Eighth District

February 21, 10:00 am
Congressman John Shadegg, From Washington Street to the U. S. House of Representatives
February 28, 10:00 am
The Honorable Dennis DeConcini, From the Center Aisle

March 7,
10:00 am

The Honorable Fife Symington, Governing Arizona in the 1990’s
March 14, 10:00 am
The Honorable Raul Castro
March 21 , 10:00 am
The Honorable Jane Dee Hull, Twenty-five Years in Arizona Government


Lectures are held at:

ASU’s Kerr Cultural Center
6110 N. Scottsdale Road (
South of the Borgata)
Scottsdale, Arizona
Box Office: 480-596-2660

Tickets: $22.50 Reserved seating; $20.50 General Seating. AHF Member and Complete Series discounts available. Tickets will go on sale January 11th. Please contact the Kerr Box Office to purchase seats.

  • Coffee 9:30 a.m.
  • Lecture 10:00 a.m.